The French Icarian Colony Foundation is a 501 c 3, non-profit corporation organized with the goal of
perpetuating the memory and the spirit of the Icaria story and its people, the Icarians by providing information about the precepts upon which the colony was founded, Fraternity, Equality, and Liberty. The Foundation is developing a historically accurate living history open air museum, America’s French Icarian Village, on original Icaria land. The heart of the development is the restored Icaria Cemetery, the 1878 refectory (communal dining hall) and the 1860 one-room Icaria school. The work of the Foundation compliments Adams County's unique and rich heritage. The Village will provide an Icarian experience that will invite, educate and engage visitors.

Purpose and Mission Statement

It is the purpose of the French Icarian Colony Foundation, Inc. to establish the means by which the heritage of the French Icarian Colony may be recognized, preserved, promoted, interpreted, and made available for the benefit of the public. The mission of the French Icarian Colony Foundation is dedicated to conveying the importance of the Icarian experience to the history of our nation by protecting the heritage, preserving the site and celebrating the contributions of the Icarians as an integral part of history.

Board of Trustees:

          Teresa Parmenter                   Doug Ireland                       Adam Goodvin
            Des Moines, IA                      Des Moines, IA                    Corning, IA

          Richard Hogan                        Dolores Parcher                  Jon Sellars
            Corning, IA                             Corning, IA                          Lenox, IA

          Norma Jean Mosman              Jan Willett                           Bill Riley
            Corning, IA                             Corning, IA                          Lenox, IA  

          Adam Grundman                     Beverly Sickler                    Ben Mullen
            Corning, IA                              Pella, IA                             Corning, IA

​          Saundra Clem Leininger, Executive Director
            Corning, IA

Leadership Advisory Board:

Dory Briles - Des Moines IA                         Diana Garno, PhD - Birch Run MI
L. Eugene Gerard - Kennebec, SD                Laura (Lolly) Hoffman - Dubuque IA
Susan Judkins Josten - Clive, IA                  Dale Larsen - Ballwin, MO
Renee Mosby - Corning, IA                           Martin Olive - Corning, IA
Kenneth Olive - St. Charles, MO                   Gerald Schnepf - Johnston, IA
Jon Sellars - West Des Moines, IA                Colleen Shaw - LaCrosse, WI
Dan Sullivan, PhD - Omaha NE                     Sharon Wallingford - Richmond, TX

About Us
Go to Home Page
Funded in part by Western IA Tourism Region